I THINK ABOUT IT

It’s taken me forever

To put my thoughts to paper

And I recognize that these

Are tiny pensive moments

Only

Just for now that’s all

None of it means anything really

‘Cause at the end of the day

Who do these self-serving bits

Of internal musing really touch

It doesn’t matter anyway

It won’t change

A thing.

My soul is still

Aching

Still turning

Still moaning in my sleep

Still torn

Still screaming

Still weeping

Still yearning

Still denying

Still bargaining

Still hoping –

Could there be

Another dimension

Somewhere out there

And I’m actually in some

God forsaken nightmare,

I’m going to wake up

Any minute now?

On my phone there’ll

Be a text

Short and to the point

From son

Something he’d forgotten

To bring home

Bring it to him

It’d say

With the implicit understanding

I’m not to take it as

Reconciliation

No

Mother, no

Someday

But not today

Would that this were true

I’d take it to him

Like I did before

Knowing that’s one tiny

Way of saying

I’m not really

Pushing you away entirely

I’m just being free

Is all.

In this dimension

He is free

Free of everything

Free of me

Free of his worries

Free of fear

Free of wondering what to do next

Free of life itself

Free.

I am deep within recesses

Every second that I’m out there

Pretending I belong

In this world of routine

Of strangers and acquaintances

Of random people and events

Of making money

Of putting one damn foot in front of the other

Like nothing really happened

It’s uncomfortable it seems

To talk about it –

Not for me

‘Cause I feel every emotion still

On the ends of every nerve

Every cell of my body

Feels this pain and

They don’t know

That dealing with predictable

And predictably unpredictable circumstances

Takes everything I’ve got.

I am the elephant in the room

Wanting to trumpet my agony

Stop the world turning

Go back a bit before it all

Imploded

On that cold January night

I know I can’t

But I can dream

Can’t I?

There’s no panacea

No pill

No drink

No song

No words

No place

No food

No nothing

That can take this

Away from me.

Seared into my heart,

I lost my baby.

This is me now that

My baby’s gone.

This is me

Now.

Catherine M. Harris © 2023-11-30

This poem is in honour of Ben, and is dedicated to anyone who has lost a child. It’s really hard to explain how it feels and so I try the best I can, it’s the only thing I can do. This poem is part of a book on grief I started for Nanowrimo. I didn’t win this year because it was just a bit hard emotionally to do 50k words but if nothing else, it’s cathartic. It’s a start though and that’s the most important thing, putting pen to paper.

Leave a comment